Planning & Zoning Commission


Portion of Town Charter establishing Planning and Zoning Commission:

  • Sec. 31. - Planning and zoning commission: There shall be a planning and zoning commission of six regular members, elected as provided in this act. This commission shall function as the planning commission and the zoning commission of the town. The first selectman and the superintendent of public works shall be ex officio members of the commission.
    (Amd. of March 18, 1985; Amd. of July 29, 1985)

Materials for pending applications, recent applications and actions, and applications of public interest can be found at ViewPoint Cloud.


  • 7:30 p.m.
  • 4th Tuesday of every month except in August and December
  • Town Hall
    Room 206

In situations where an exceptionally large attendance is anticipated, meetings may be reassigned to the Auditorium. A General Meeting may also be held during a Public Hearing or Planning Meeting in place of, or in addition to, such scheduled meetings. The Commission shall attempt to conclude all meetings by no later than 10:30 pm. Detailed agendas are available the Thursday afternoon before a meeting date from the Planning and Zoning Department and on the Planning and Zoning Commission page of the Town website.


  • Stephen Olvany, Chairman (R)
    Term Expires: November 2025
  • Adam Balgach (D)
    Term Expires: November 2025
  • Amy Barsanti (R)
    Term Expires: November 2027
  • George Reilly, Vice-Chairman (D)
    Term Expires: November 13, 2027
  • Michael Nedder (R)
    Term Expires: November 2027
  • Jamie Zionic (R)
    Term Expires: November 2025

4-Year Term

Ex-Officio Members

  • Edward L. Gentile Jr., P.E., Public Works Director
  • Jon Zagrodzky, First Selectman

Abutters Tool

Link to help you prepare a list of neighbors within 100 feet of your property: Abutter's Tool.

You should check this information with the Assessor's Office to ensure that you have the most recent and up-to-date information. The information on the web was last updated January 3, 2023 for parcel mapping and ownership data, so it needs to be checked.

  1. Jeremy Ginsberg, AICP

    Director of Land Use

  2. Fred Doneit, AICP, GISP

    Assistant Director of Planning

Related Documents

Town of Darien Multi-Family & Affordable Housing Inventory

Town of Darien Deed Restricted Affordable Housing & Public Transportation Map