Monuments & Ceremonies Commission

The Town does hereby create a Monuments & Ceremonies Commission which shall consist of 15 members to be appointed by the Board of Selectmen.  Members shall serve for three-year terms commencing on December 1 of the year of their appointment.  (Code 1972, § 55-1; Res. of 9-22-1997)

The Monuments and Ceremonies Commission consists of 15 members charged with establishing guidelines for new monuments, markers and plaques erected on public property and with cataloging, surveying and identifying maintenance and upkeep needs of all memorial monuments, markers and plaques on town property. When requested by the Board of Selectmen, this Commission organizes, prepares and monitors public patriotic parades, public celebrations, anniversaries and special community events to enhance the image of the town. When relevant, the Commission consults and coordinates its activities with other town Boards and Commissions. This Commission formed a sub-committee to help in the restoration of abandoned cemeteries and a committee to recognize Darien's Bicentennial.

To contact the Monuments & Ceremonies Commission please email:

For information on the 2020 Bicentennial Committee click HERE.

Listing files in 'Monuments & Ceremonies Commission'

Member Term Expires
Allan Bixler (U) 11/30/2020
Sharon Bixler (R) 11/30/2020
Terry Gaffney (R) Vice-Chairman 11/30/2021
Rollie Holub (R) 11/30/2021
Rob Hulick (R) 11/30/2020 
James Long (R)  11/30/2019
Sueann Schorr (R) Treasurer 11/30/2018
Loren Gomez (D) 11/30/2022

Ex Officio Member:

  • Don Anderson, Chief of Police