Commission On Aging

The Town does hereby create a Commission on Aging which shall consist of eleven (11) members to be appointed by the Board of Selectmen.  Commission members shall serve for three-year terms commencing on April 1 of the year of their appointment.  The municipal agent for elderly persons of the town shall be a nonvoting ex officio member of the commission.  (Code 1972, § 53-1; Ord. of 2-1-1988; Amd. of 6-12-2018(2)

The Commission on Aging is concerned with the needs of Darien's seniors - and seniors-to-be - with regard to health, recreation, transportation and economics.  Currently, there are more than 3,000 people 60 or older in Darien - making them the fastest growing segment of the Town's population. 

(3-year terms)

Member  Term Expires
Joseph Pankowski Jr. (U), Chairman 03/31/2024
Marcia Cleary (D) 03/31/2024
Karen Cummins (R) 03/31/2024
Joan Davey (R) 03/31/2022
Peter F. Eder (R) 03/31/2022
Geraldine Genovese (R) 03/31/2023
Susan Kostin (D) 03/31/2024 
Mary McCarthy (R) 03/31/2023
James Metzger (R)  03/31/2022 
Suzanne Okie (D) 03/31/2023
Raymond Slavin (R) 03/31/2023
Carla Thompson (R)  03/31/2021 

Ex-Officio Members
Ali Ramsteck, Human Services Director
Beth Paris, Senior Center Coordinator